23
Apr
13

Things you wish you said

Image“Who’s the mother?” — Homer Bigart, renowned war correspondent for The New York Herald Tribune, on learning that Marguerite Higgins, The Herald Tribune’s other equally renowned war correspondent, was pregnant.

In case you hadn’t guessed, they did not get along. This did not stop them from winning a Pulitzer Prize together for their coverage of the Korean War. Bigart later wrote of Higgins,

“When I came out I thought I was the premier war correspondent and I thought that she, being the Tokyo correspondent, ought to be back in Toyko. But she didn’t see things that way. She was a very brave person, foolishly brave. As a result, I felt as though I had to go out and get shot at occasionally myself. So I resented that.”

0 Responses to “Things you wish you said”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

WTF?

The Ministry of Culture is a blog (duh!) about whatever interests me, a professional journalist. It looks at current events, culture -- rock & roll, literature, roller derby, opera, comedy -- military history and whatever else crosses my path. All opinions are my own.

Contact

curseyoukhan (AT) gmail dot ...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Books I’ve read recently


